Copywriters Board
Forum Rules
Go Back   Copywriters Board > Posting Forums > Critique Requests
Reload this Page $6 Million Property Raffle
Critique Requests Need a second opinion on your copy or strategy? Get feedback here. Be clear and specific. No advertising!

Notices
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink) Old
Junior Member
$6MillionMan is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Spain
Rep Power: 0
Friends: 0
Default $6 Million Property Raffle - 06-11-2006, 08:36 AM

Anybody convinced by this website?: www.winaholidayhomeinspain.com. If not, why not? Feedback much appreciated.


Smile, don't fret, it's all gonna be alright.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink) Old
Grand Master
drkilstein is on a distinguished road
 
drkilstein's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Join Date: Sep 2004
Rep Power: 6
Friends: 8
Send a message via ICQ to drkilstein Send a message via AIM to drkilstein Send a message via Yahoo to drkilstein
Default 06-11-2006, 10:17 AM

No.

The website is a joke.

Who is supervising the lottery to make sure it's above board?

Who are you? Why should anyone believe you will give away the homes?

Your website screams scam.

Shut down your adwords until you adjust your website and give yourself
some credibility.

Why are you raffling your property instead of selling it?

What if there isn't enough interest? Do people get their money back?

What are the tax ramifications of winning in Spain?

Where exactly are the homes?

What's the community like?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink) Old
Grand Master
Ken_Calhoun is on a distinguished road
 
Ken_Calhoun's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,212
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Rep Power: 7
Friends: 3
Default 06-11-2006, 10:24 AM

yeah.. "what Harlan said" ... he's completely right as usual.

the only way it would seem even More spammy/fake, would be if it had

"Hi my name is Prince Mofumbo from Nigeria. Congratulations! You have just won the chance to get your own house in spain. Kindly send me 20 euros and you will have a chance to own your very own house, too."


come on gimme a friggin break.

this kind of stuff is what makes the internet a bad place. screams spam. who are you? who's sponsoring this? it says "I'm a nobody who has no intention of delivering and I just want to grab as many euros and disappear as soon as possible". I like to report this type of site to the ftc.gov

To make it legit, you'd of course need to partner/jv with an authentic travel agency and have the page on their site, or a genuine realtor, with the same. Otherwise it's a lot of bull****.



ken


http://www.WritingAdwords.com < --- the definitive Adwords video copywriting "How-To" course in a box!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink) Old
Super Moderator
Stephen Davies will become famous soon enough
 
Stephen Davies's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,215
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Rep Power: 8
Friends: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to Stephen Davies Send a message via Skype™ to Stephen Davies
Default 06-11-2006, 10:29 AM

I'm curious about what the ramifications and liabilities would be for a copywriter that does a "job" for this website???
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink) Old
Master
skywriteing is on a distinguished road
 
skywriteing's Avatar
 
Posts: 740
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Milwaukee
Rep Power: 3
Friends: 0
Send a message via AIM to skywriteing
Default Re: $6 Million Property Raffle - 06-11-2006, 10:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by $6MillionMan
Anybody convinced by this website?: www.winaholidayhomeinspain.com. If not, why not? Feedback much appreciated.
It's missing all the normal things.

A great headline focused on a key consumer benifit.
Good, interesting copy focused on benefits.
Minimal Graphics for fast page loading.
Testimonials and credibility building features.
Bullet points.
A Call to action.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink) Old
janebert
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 06-11-2006, 03:22 PM

Agree with Ken and Harlan. You don't say who you are or why you're doing this.

Also, you'd have to sell 170,000 tickets just to break even on the properties, excluding marketing costs, wage bill, taxes etc.

Without any brand name recognition and no small print that proves this is registered with the appropriate authorities and complies with the prevailing legislation, it is suspect to say the very least. It looks like something knocked up by an individual, not a company or property developer.

Also, the price tag, 20 euros, is just a little bit too close to the typical scam price tag. You know, "you've won a prize, now phone our premium rate line which will cost you £10 and your prize cost us 50p". It's playing on people's greed.

Jane
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink) Old
Master
JanetB is on a distinguished road
 
JanetB's Avatar
 
Posts: 754
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Rep Power: 4
Friends: 6
Default 06-11-2006, 04:11 PM

I looked at your site elsewhere on this board, and my first thought was that it seemed suspicious. This was before I looked at this thread and the responses here.

So yes, you have to be very careful because of what you are offering. If you're legit, prove it.

I noticed that you have some information deeper within the website, but I wasn't motivated to read it. If there's anything in there that would promote trust, use it up front.

You also mentioned having a $175K advertising budget. Do you really have that much? If so, there's no excuse for not hiring a top-notch copywriter. It *will* make a difference.

Janet
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink) Old
Master
skywriteing is on a distinguished road
 
skywriteing's Avatar
 
Posts: 740
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Milwaukee
Rep Power: 3
Friends: 0
Send a message via AIM to skywriteing
Default 06-11-2006, 05:07 PM

Quote:
Agree with Ken and Harlan.
See that Primo? Your such a Knob. : P
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink) Old
Super Moderator
Stephen Davies will become famous soon enough
 
Stephen Davies's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,215
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Rep Power: 8
Friends: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to Stephen Davies Send a message via Skype™ to Stephen Davies
Default 06-11-2006, 05:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by skywriteing
Quote:
Agree with Ken and Harlan.
See that Primo? Your such a Knob. : P
Takes one to know one Chucky boy!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink) Old
janebert
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 06-11-2006, 06:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by skywriteing
Quote:
Agree with Ken and Harlan.
See that Primo? Your such a Knob. : P
What are you going on about Sky? I didn't disagree with you, but I was agreeing with Ken and Harlan re: why it looks suspicious, which is not something you commented on. And Primo just asked questions, that's why he didn't get a mention.

Honestly, do I have to caretake everyone's feelings every time I post? Do I always have to think about how to make you feel better?

If that's not your point, then what is? Or are you just being a knob?

Jane
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Share on Facebook Bookmark to Sphinn!Twit this!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tear It Up: Property Critique Tux Critique Requests 5 07-02-2008 06:47 PM
Intellectual property question netvicar Copywriting Discussion 7 09-06-2007 03:04 AM
From Zero to $17 Million Dale King Member Content 1 03-12-2007 04:59 PM
Intellectual Property of Sales Copy Francis Ardi Copywriting Discussion 1 09-04-2006 05:23 AM
Anyone Know About Intellectual Property Laws? Jazzmine Copywriting Discussion 7 11-04-2003 04:19 PM



Copyright © 2003-2008 The Success Doctor, Inc. | SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Subscribe to The RSS Feed!